You must pass a vision screening, but the driving test may be waived. This is a restricted license and will be indicated as such on the face of the license. Class C - Minor's School License To get a school license you must have successfully completed an Iowa-approved driver education course unless you show a hardship exists and live 1 mile or more from school. This restriction could be used when a driver has lost his right leg or the use of the right leg. Applicant must have been employed as a commercial vehicle driver continuously since March 31, 1990.Next
This restriction can only be added when the skills test is performed in a Class B passenger vehicle. A drivers is not allowed to operate a vehicle during certain hours. Many of these requirements are set on the federal level. The penalty is the same for those driving on an expired license. This is an information code designed to avoid the continued referral of an applicant whose vision cannot be improved. The holder of a Class A license is qualified to operate vehicles for which a Class B or Class C license is issued.Next
Violators will have their original suspension period doubled and their vehicle impounded. This restriction would be imposed for paraplegics or on drivers who have lost some degree of mobility of their limbs. The second violation, within three years, results in a disqualification of not less than 120 days. You must hold your learners permit for at least six months and be at least 16 years of age before you can continue on to the next step - a provisional drivers license. All late model vehicles are required to have mechanical signals but this would still be added to drivers who have lost the use of one or more of their upper limbs. A new doctor's statement is required each time the credential is renewed. Moped motorized bicycle license only This license allows you to operate moped motorized bicycle.Next
If you are under age 16 you must also have successfully completed an Iowa-approved course in moped education. Even though there are not many permit restriction for you to observe, you still have to go through the same testing procedure as younger drivers. This combines requirements under restriction 5, 6, 33, 34, and 36. This restriction is to be applied only upon recommendation of a doctor. The number of passengers that can be present in the vehicle is limited by the number of available seat belts.Next
E — Prohibits driving a commercial motor vehicle equipped with a manual transmission. The requirements to the supervising driver are the same as for the learners permit. Class D - Chauffeur This license covers operation of light straight trucks and small passenger-for-hire vehicles. V - Indicates that the driver has been issued a medical variance. But others can satisfy the conditions with a little effort and some paperwork. Tank Endorsement Liquids in bulk can cause driving control problems because the cargo is heavy, prone to shifting, and has a high center of gravity. This would compensate for the loss of mobility of the arms to control the steering.Next
The third and subsequent violations, within three years, results in a disqualification of not less than one year. Restrictions Codes List In order to provide you with an example of what the drivers license restriction codes may be like, here is a list of restrictions that work in Wyoming. The reduction in speed allows the driver more time to respond to changing traffic situations. This section of Iowa's vehicle code is sometimes known as the state's. Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is transporting material that has been designated as hazardous. This code is applied to applicants having a hearing problem which can be improved with a hearing aid.Next
The first violation for a serious violation does not result in a disqualification. Once this requirement is met, an applicant may take a and receive a provisional drivers license. In most states, everyone in the vehicle operated by a provisional license holder must wear a seat belt. If driving above 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, this can result in suspension of a license. The restriction remains in place for the period determined by the court or Indiana law. Allows for restrictions not covered by other more specific restriction codes.Next
This restriction applies to handicapped drivers that, for whatever reason, have slower than normal response times. Iowa Provisional License Restrictions If you are at least 16 years of age, have fulfilled all learners permit requirements and have passed an Iowa drivers test, you are awarded a provisional drivers license. Drivers with this restriction cannot obtain a motorcycle endorsement. Restrictions are federally regulated, but restriction codes can vary by state. See restrictions 25 and 26.